Disaster Operations Directorate Fact Sheet

The mission of FEMA's Disaster Operations Directorate is to coordinate and provide the core Federal disaster response capability needed to save lives, reduce suffering, and protect property in communities throughout the Nation that have been overwhelmed by the impact of a major disaster or emergency, regardless of cause. The Disaster Operations Directorate must ensure that Federal emergency response systems and capabilities are properly poised to lean forward to support States and communities overwhelmed by disasters and emergencies. Key functions include:

Core Responsibilities

Disaster Response Planning

Response Teams/Assets

FEMA's Disaster Operations Directorate is responsible for managing multiple disaster response teams and assets that can be immediately deployed to support State and local response operations. The capability of teams and systems to execute the disaster response mission is continually tested through multi-agency, tribal, State and local exercises. Several different types of disaster response teams can be deployed to support disaster response, as discussed below. In accordance with the Post-Katrina Emergency Management Reform Act of 2006, FEMA is developing Incident Management Assistance Teams (IMAT), a next generation of rapidly deployable interagency national and regional emergency response "strike" teams. These new teams will eventually replace existing Emergency Response Teams (ERT) at the national and regional level and the Federal Incident Response Support Teams (FIRST), and are designed to provide a forward Federal presence to better manage and coordinate the national response to catastrophic incidents. FEMA teams and assets include:

Command and Control

FEMA manages a network of operations centers to coordinate and sustain response operations; maintain situational awareness and a common operating picture for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and FEMA leadership; facilitate information sharing between FEMA and non-FEMA entities; and provide internal and external stakeholders a consolidated, consistent, and accurate status of on-going incidents, responses or potential events. The key components of this network are the National Response Coordination Center (NRCC) in FEMA Headquarters; the Regional Response Coordination Centers (RRCC) located in each of the 10 FEMA Regions; the FEMA Operations Center (FOC) located at the Mt. Weather Emergency Operations Center (EOC); the five strategically located MERS Operations Centers (MOC); and the Logistics Management Center (LMC) at FEMA Headquarters.

Interagency Coordination

Under the National Response Framework (NRF), Federal departments and agencies and the American Red Cross are grouped by capabilities and types of expertise, into Emergency Support Functions (ESF) to provide the planning, support, resources, program implementation, and emergency services that are most likely to be needed during a disaster. FEMA coordinates ESF emergency management resources and has invested substantial time in meeting with the ESFs through the auspices of the Emergency Support Functions Leadership Group (ESFLG). Disaster Operations holds quarterly meetings with the ESFLG to facilitate collaborative planning to ensure interagency coordination and communication; focus on developing strategic, time-sequenced plans of preparedness and response; and ensure ESFs are prepared to execute their plans and commence operations consistent with the NRF.

During response operations, FEMA uses the interagency "Mission Assignment (MA)" process to task and reimburse other Federal Departments and Agencies to provide essential disaster response assistance. Through this MA process, the ESFs are assigned missions they are expected to implement in order to save lives, protect property, and deliver disaster response assistance. Greater emphasis has been placed on the MA process to include development of Pre-Scripted Mission Assignments (PSMAs), a mechanism used to facilitate rapid response. In 2006, FEMA had a total of 44 PSMAs with 2 Federal agencies in place for support for Hurricane Season. Since then, FEMA has increased the number of PSMAs to 223 (in coordination with 31 Federal agencies). This support ranges from heavy-lift helicopters from the Department of Defense, to generators from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, to Disaster Medical Assistance Teams from HHS, and Emergency Road Clearing Teams from the U.S. Forest Service. By expanding the development of PSMAs, FEMA is now better prepared to support tribal, State and local governments in disaster response.

The Department of Defense (DoD) plays a key role supporting FEMA in overall planning, coordinating and integrating Defense Support to Civil Authorities with local, State and Federal agencies. The DoD focus in domestic disaster response is on providing homeland defense, supporting civil operations, and coordinating "in-theater" security activities designed to protect the American people and their way of life. DoD has assigned liaison officers to FEMA Headquarters to ensure effective coordination of activities. Defense Coordinating Officers, supported by Defense Coordinating Elements, are assigned to FEMA's regions to ensure military coordination at the regional level. FEMA has two full-time representatives at USNORTHCOM to coordinate disaster response activities.


Team Status

State Team: Deployable
Federal Team: Deployable



FAIR USE NOTICE This site may contain copyrighted material that was not specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Salt Lake Urban Search & Rescue Task Force personnel believe this constitutes fair use of copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the U.S. Copyright Law. If you wish to use copyrighted material contained within this document for your own purposes that go beyond fair use,you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.